top of page

Hi! I'm Marcio.

Hello, a pleasure to meet you. My name is Marcio, and I'm the founder of MenCare UK.



It sounds fancy, but in this terrible 2021, it is just me working as a beauty therapist and aesthetician! 😆 Still glamorous, and I love what I do.



I thought of opening up and letting you know more about MenCare and me.




 


Where do you come from?


I was born in October 1982 - I know! Thank god for my professions, the creams and all the stretches! - in sunny Portugal!



Maia is the name of my hometown, on the suburbs of beautiful Porto (or Oporto) and the Douro valley where Port comes from!



Here I am! I was about 15, barely growing a beard, with my schoolmates on the beach! So many good memories! I was terrible at bodyboarding, though!



We were terrible! We skipped a few English classes to be on Mindelo's beach. Thinnes sand I ever felt in my feet! Ah! I still feel guilty I missed those English lessons! 😰



While studying at Oporto's Music Conservatoire, I visited many places, but the most fascinating was Bristol, Bath and its surroundings.





I moved to England in 2003 to continue my music studies and my degree in singing at the Guildhall School of Music in Drama. And one course after the other, I stayed, and I'm still studying today! You, know... one of those eternal students.




 


When did you start your career in Beauty and Aesthetics?



I've worked as a therapist since my first (VTCT Beauty) qualification in 2014, yep! I have been doing this for some years now, and I love it!



Here I am training to do a manicure. I was not the best at applying polish with my friends ending up with their fingers all red! Look at those lines! You have a big destiny ahead of you. Always works! She was very happy and forgot the red fingers.





I started working with Daniel (Beauty) and then moved around. I'm now in gorgeous Camberley! Thank you, Daniel, for putting up with me!



I have been studying beauty and aesthetics for quite a few years and I must have done pretty much everything you can do, except... Botox and fillers! Seriously considering as I now start needing some! 🤣




In fact, throughout these years I qualified in Hair Removal, including Laser and Electrolysis hair removal/reduction; Swedish Massage, Hot Stone Massage, Aromatherapy, Lymphatic Drainage Therapy, Thai Yoga Massage, Sports & Remedial Massage... and more, Manicure, Pedicure (Hands & Feet), Facial Treatments, including electric facial treatments, Body treatments, Gym Instructor, Personal Training, Sports Nutrition...



And then we have my other passion!




Here I am with my good friends on the graduation day of my first (hot) Yoga course! Miss you all.



But I didn't stop there, and I have been working more intensely on classical Yoga and bridging this ancient wisdom with modern research.





After losing my yoga studio in Farnborough, I decided... why not study a bit more! I've now finished the first part of my Yoga Therapy Course! Just brilliant to see that many techniques used in Psychology, personal training and massage have been around for millennia! Yes, you guessed it, yoga has it all and more still!



Ah! I'm also studying counselling. Fancy talking?



Not sure if I forgot something! Ah!, I have a degree in Music - singing and all that comes with it, public presentation, repertoire, movement and drama, languages... blah blah blah 🤣



I've been building my skills to become your mix-and-match personal therapist! Just take me with you on your holidays! 😜




 



Did you Know Marcio was the Finalist in a national competition for the best Male Therapist from the British Association of Beauty & Aesthetics Council?




Oh, stop it! I'm blushing! Yes... alright!...


But that was in 2016. You might ask, "why didn't you try again"?



I believe they didn't repeat the male category, and I had enough of competitions - I had plenty when I was studying singing. I do not miss them! I'm an expert (enough) and good with my therapeutic hands. I don't think I have to prove myself anymore!



So, I was a proud finalist. I made my beauty academy happy and got a badge and another certificate! I promise I planted trees to compensate for the number of certificates I have been given all these years! 😱




And there you have it! This is me.


Easy going, people lover, wanting to help and make a difference. Hard worker, eternal student, loving life and what life throughs to me - both good and bad!



Thank you!

Marcio da Rosa








97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page